Top NZ Pinot Noir (part 2)

When I made this post, I correctly received comments about wines that had also been awarded 5 stars but not mentioned in the top 10, and therefore not in my list. One of these was the Bald Hills Pinot <link>. So I went and did some more reading and discovered that the Bald Hills 2005 Pinot Noir was judged the best red wine in the world <link>. As the article says, “It beat 4,760 other entries to take the Champion Red award in the International Wine Challenge, the world’s biggest blind tasting.” Woohoo! Congratulations. I better make a visit one day and sample some of the fine product.

For my 40th birthday I took the family to Dijon so that we could taste and experience the home of fine Pinot Noir. It was fantastic, especially looking around Beaune. Our flat in London is pretty small so we don’t have anywhere for a cellar but there are a couple or four bottles stashed away. That Pinot grapes also contribute to champagne confirms it as a my favourite grape. Bald Hills here I come.

Here’s a pic of the bottle/label.

pinotnoir_04_resize.jpg

(PS I am bald myself)

  1. Great comments “Displaced Kiwi”, however you are showing a shot of the 2004 bottle, not the 2005!
    Look forward to meeting you when you return to The Chosen Land.

  2. I love NZ wine. I just wish I didn’t have to travel half way around the world to go tasting there.




Leave a Reply

  • Bookmark and Share
  • RSS My Twitterfeed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • TwitterCounter for @geoff_bilbrough
  • Add to Technorati Favorites

