ABC: Anything But Chardonnay

Viognier is the perfect alternative to Chardonnay. I like Chardonnay but every so often you need something different. Viognier fits the bill and here’s what I think is a very good one and good value from Waitrose for just GBP11.95. It’s the 2006 Verite from Laurent Miquel. <link>.

 viognier.jpg

 I find the wine to be full flavoured, apricots and floral, mouth-filling and long lasting in the mouth. Jaime Goode of the Sunday Express agrees:

“One of the southern France’s rising stars, this wine is not like anything you’ll have tasted before. In the mouth it has a rich texture with intense peach and vanilla flavours that justify the high price tag”. (2006 vintage) Jamie Goode, Sunday Express, 25 November 2007

Backstory on Condrieu, the wine most associated with the Viognier grape, courtesy of Hugh Johnson and Jancis Robinson. The World Atlas of Wine.

“Condrieu is a wine AOC in the northern Rhône wine region of France and the south of the Côte-Rôtie AOC. The wines are exclusively white, made from the Viognier grape, which originated in the region. They are best drunk within a few years, before their noticeable, floral aroma fades. They are very expensive, as only small quantities are produced, though the amount has increased in recent years.”

As I am no Master of Wine I have to admit that I discovered the wine standing in Argos this morning. I was in the queue, a cooking programme of some sort was on the many flatscreen tvs and the two hairy cooks from up North had this wine with a dish that they had cooked.  The sound was off but there was lots of nodding and smiling so I assumed it was good. The review mentioned that it was available from Waitrose <link>, so being a Viognier fan and just a few hundred metres from Waitrose on Finchley Road, (nice new shop) I walked the bike down the road and collected a bottle to sample. I’ll be going back for more.

  1. Viognier is a great grape. My home commonwealth of Virginia here in the States is making some great viognier wines.

  1. 1 ABS « Wine Wine Wine

    […] sauvignon blanc, wine Anything but Sauvignon. It can be ABC, Anything But Chardonnay <link> (from my other blog before I created this one). I’m definitely not a fan of Sauvignon so […]

  2. 2 Viognier rules « Wine Wine Wine

    […] pre-wine, wine, wine post on the 2006 Verite from Laurent Miquel is here <link>. I’m still buying and drinking this wine. It’s great […]




Leave a Reply

