Chess, a handshake and antisocial behaviour

The response to my “Bobby Fischer is dead announcement” continued this morning. Turns out most of the people I work with weren’t born when Spassky and Fischer battled it out for Cold War bragging rights.

And then the Guardian reports this…

“Nigel Short, the England No2, was awarded a win by forfeit in yesterday’s play at Corus Wijk aan Zee in the Netherlands after his opponent refused a handshake. Bulgaria’s Ivan Cheparinov twice spurned Short’s hand at the start of their eighth-round game and was then defaulted by the Dutch arbiter, who cited an International Chess Federation (Fide) policy which forbids antisocial conduct.

Last year Short called for an inquiry into allegations that the Bulgarian No1 Veselin Topalov cheated during the 2005 world title tournament; Cheparinov is Topalov’s aide. The Wijk appeals committee has ruled the game should be replayed today subject to a handshake and an apology.”

Name me another sport where you can get an ASBO and forfeit the match for not shaking your opponent’s hand.

Advertisements



    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s


  • Bookmark and Share
  • RSS My Twitterfeed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • TwitterCounter for @geoff_bilbrough
  • Add to Technorati Favorites

%d bloggers like this: