Steve Rubel is right

Here’s Steve Rubel’s post on the future of Twitter <link>. I’m a Twitter fan and, while my initial ardour may have cooled, I think it has a future. But the words that stood out for me in this post were these…

“The truth is that standing out in the blogosphere has never been harder for those who don’t blog for a living. This is simply because it requires original thought – something people don’t have the time or patience to do.”

True. So true. 

While I’m happy in my own little corner of the Internet and my trickle of readers, I just don’t have the time in my life to have, research and then write, a truely original thought. It’s not to say my musings aren’t interesting (I think they are) or that I haven’t found my own voice; it’s just that my thoughts are mostly comments on other people’s thoughts, actions or activities. Have I initiated a thought stream of my own that others have picked up on? I’m afraid not. 

Depressingly even the name of this blog isn’t original. A quick search shows that there is more than one displaced Kiwi.

As Steve says I don’t do it for a living. On balance this is probably a good thing. 

    Leave a Reply

      • Bookmark and Share
  • RSS My Twitterfeed

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • TwitterCounter for @geoff_bilbrough
  • Add to Technorati Favorites

