Tribute to Dorian Lynskey

I’d like to thank Dorian for 132 weeks of reading pleasure. I opened today’s Guardian Film & Music to find Dorian signing off with his last Readers Recommend: “goodbye songs”.

When it comes to newspapers I’m a fickle friend. This week I’ve bought The Telegraph, The Independent and The Guardian (different days). But I always buy The Guardian on Friday for Film & Music and I always read Readers Recommend. I’ll admit I haven’t read all 132; I’m sure they were all great. Thanks Dorian. I’m clipping this week’s and putting it somewhere safe.

Here’s the playlist:

1 Hey, That’s No Way to Say Goodbye Leonard Cohen
2 Sally MacLennane the Pogues
3 My Mind’s On Leaving, But My Heart Won’t Let Me Go Honey Cone
4 Never Can Say Goodbye Jackson 5
5 Caroline Goodbye Colin Blunstone
6 The Time Has Come Anne Briggs
7 Je Suis Venu Te Dire Que Je M’En Vais Serge Gainsbourg
8 Say Hello, Wave Goodbye Soft Cell
9 To Live Is to Fly Townes Van Zandt
10 Lovers Never Say Goodbye The Flamingos

The complete list of Readers Recommend is here. <link>

    Leave a Reply

